13 February 2012 (GV.0402)                                                                                                              (1/1)




Chairman of Tandridge District Council, Councillor Brian Perkins and Vice-Chairman, Councillor Sakina Bradbury have released details of the nominees for the Citizen of the Year Awards.


The three winners will be announced at the Civic Reception being held on Thursday 23 February 2012 at Surrey National Golf Club, Chaldon. The awards will be presented by the Chairman and MP Sam Gyimah.


The nominees are:


ˇ        Alan Turrell, Hurst Green

ˇ        Alan Norgrove, Oxted

ˇ        Andy Parr, Caterham

ˇ        Elaine Holloway, Oxted

ˇ        Fiona Lock, Lingfield

ˇ        Gordon & Mary Morley, Oxted

ˇ        Gwen Hoare, Caterham

ˇ        Hilary Turner, Caterham

ˇ        Irwyn Davies, Lingfield

ˇ        Joan Brackpool, Hurst Green

ˇ        John Kempton, Oxted

ˇ        Ken Harwood, Felbridge

ˇ        Margaret McNaughton, Oxted

ˇ        Margaret Price, Hurst Green

ˇ        Mark Jones, Caterham

ˇ        Martin Vaux, Caterham

ˇ        Maureen Young, Dormansland

ˇ        Neil Burtenshaw, Caterham

ˇ        Roger Atkins, Caterham

ˇ        Tom Dempsey, Whyteleafe



The awards were open to anyone who had made a significant or outstanding contribution, on a purely voluntary basis, to the community.


Chairman of the Council, Councillor Brian Perkins, said: “All the nominees are closely involved in their local community and it is going to be a difficult decision to choose just three.”




For more information contact Giuseppina Valenza, Communications Manager, on 01883 732704.


Party spokesmen: Councillor Gordon Keymer (Con) 01883 717363 and Councillor Chris Botten (LD) 07917 862130.